Knowledge Base›Email›Deleting Emails

WebMail – Deleting Emails

On this pageDeleting Emails to the TrashEmptying the TrashCommon ProblemsFrequently Asked Questions

This article deals with deleting email messages via the WebMail ⧉interface. If you want to keep your emails and increase the capacity for them, follow the guide Email – Increasing Mailbox Space.

The screenshots were taken in the new Elastictemplate. If you use the older Larrytemplate, follow the text instructions, or at least temporarily change the template according to the manual.

In this article you will learn:


Deleting Emails to the Trash

When you delete emails in the usual way, the messages are moved to the trash, where they remain (and keep taking up space) until you empty the trash.

First, select the emails you want to delete. You can use the following methods:

  • Selecting with the mouse. If you hold down the Ctrlkey, you select every email you click on. If you hold down the Shiftkey, you select the two emails you clicked and all other messages between them.
  • Selection menu. Přes tuto nabídku můžete vybrat vše (kompletní obsah složky), aktuální stránku, nepřečtené e-maily, e-maily označené vlaječkou, e-maily, které nejsou vybrané (převrácení výběru) a nebo všechna označení zrušit (možnost nic).
Email selection menu
Email selection menu

Once you have selected the emails, click the Delete button in the top bar, or press the Delete.


Emptying the Trash

To empty the trash, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the WebMail ⧉.
  2. In the menu, select Trash.
  3. In the folder, select the emails you want to remove from the trash.
  4. Click the Delete button in the top bar, or press the Delete.

You can empty the following folder the same way: Spam.

Items emptied from the trash/spam are completely removed from the server by the system, which frees up the space they occupy. They can only be restored from a backup.

Automatic Trash Emptying

You can have the trash emptied automatically every time you log out of WebMail. Proceed as follows:

  1. Click the Settings.
  2. In the menu, select Preferences and then Server Settings.
  3. For the Clear Trash on logout option, select the type of messages you want to remove from the trash.
  4. Click the Save.

Common Problems

Common problems with deleting emails in WebMail include:

Short message list

Problem: Too few messages are displayed on one page and sorting is inconvenient.

Solution: In the top right corner, click Settings, then in the left column click Preferences and Mailbox View. In the Rows per page field, set the number of messages the client displays on one page and confirm with the Save.

Changing the number of items per page
Changing the number of items per page

Frequently Asked Questions

I deleted emails older than 1 week. Can they still be restored from a backup?

Yes, but only if the deletion itself took place after the latest backup was created.

Was this article helpful?

Your feedback helps us improve our articles.

Your message goes to the documentation team, who do not reply to it. If you need help, contact us using the contact form. Do not include passwords or personal data.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Ask other customers on the Help community website.